Second Offense Super Extreme DUI in Arizona
Arizona’s DUI punishments become harsher the more intoxicated you are when you are arrested. If you are a second time, non-commercial super extreme DUI offender, you face some of the harshest punishments Arizona gives any offender who does not injure another person while committing a DUI crime. You commit a second offense super extreme DUI in Arizona if you have been convicted of a DUI in the past seven years before the current offense occurs. According to Arizona Revised Statute 28-1382(E)(1), a super extreme DUI involves:
- A blood alcohol content (BAC) of over .20%
It is important to understand that if your BAC is to the super extreme level, your immediate health can be in severe danger, including suffering alcohol poisoning and liver failure. You can also be charged with a second offense super extreme DUI in Arizona if you are in control of your vehicle but not actually driving it. For example:
- You can be charged with super extreme DUI if you are found passed out behind the wheel of your vehicle with the keys somewhere on your person, even if they are not in the ignition
Being arrested for a second offense super extreme DUI in Arizona can stop your personal and professional lives in their tracks. You will be facing mandatory minimum sentencing that includes a long jail term and hefty fines. A judge will not take your social status, job, or general behavior into account when handing down harsh penalties for your actions.
Due to the life-altering nature of a second offense super extreme DUI in Arizona, if you are arrested for this ultra serious crime, immediately consult a reputable DUI lawyer in Phoenix with extensive experience defending DUI cases of all severities in Arizona. You should also choose a DUI lawyer in Phoenix who will aggressively fight to make sure your rights are being upheld at all times throughout the DUI process.
Penalties for a Second Offense Super Extreme DUI in Arizona
If you are found guilty of a second offense super extreme DUI in Arizona, you face a class 1 misdemeanor, which includes:
- A mandatory six month jail sentence
- A minimum of $2500 in fines, plus any other penalties or liabilities you may incur
- Losing your license for at least one year
- State sanctioned driving courses
- Probation or community service
- Mandatory enrollment in alcohol treatment and/or a counseling program
Due the serious nature of a second offense super extreme DUI in Arizona, you may also be ordered to engage in random alcohol monitoring, which can include blowing into a telephonic device multiple times throughout the day. In addition to this, financial penalties for a second super extreme DUI conviction can include:
- Paying for your mandatory alcohol classes and treatment
- Paying for your ignition interlock device during the 24 months (at minimum) it is on your vehicle
- Paying for your time in jail
- Paying extra for an SR-22 car insurance policy for three years after you get your vehicle back
- Paying higher car insurance premiums for up to three years after getting your vehicle back
All totaled, if you are convicted of a second offense super extreme DUI in Arizona, you can face more than $10,000 in financial penalties, above and beyond mandatory jail time. Additionally, you can face much harsher penalties if you cause an accident while intoxicated that injures another person, or causes any extensive property damage.
Trust Laboy Law DUI Lawyer in Phoenix
The consequences for being convicted of a second offense super extreme DUI in Arizona can be life shattering both personally and professionally speaking. Because of this, it is extremely important to consult a DUI lawyer in Phoenix with proven experience defending DUI offenses of all types and severities. We will not stop fighting for your rights, by making sure that every possible legal option and defense strategy is available to you. If you are facing your second super extreme DUI charge in Arizona, contact us today for a private, no obligation consultation at 602-777-3368.