First Offense Super Extreme DUI in Arizona
Arizona has incredibly strict DUI punishments for even standard, first time DUI offenders that blow a .08% on a Breathalyzer. As the extremity of intoxication increases, so do the penalties for DUI offenders. This includes very harsh financial and incarceration sentences for first time non-commercial level super extreme DUI offenders. You are a first offense super extreme DUI in Arizona offender if you have not been convicted of a DUI in the past seven years before the current offense occurs. According to Arizona Revised Statute 28-1382(D)(1), a super extreme DUI involves:
- A blood alcohol content (BAC) of over .20%
It is important to understand that if your BAC is this high, you are at risk for severe health issues including alcohol poisoning and liver failure. You can also be charged with a first offense super extreme DUI in Arizona if you are in control of your vehicle in any way, whether or not you are actually driving it. For example:
- You can be charged with super extreme DUI if you are found passed out behind the wheel of your vehicle with the keys somewhere on your person, even if they are not in the ignition
Being arrested for a first offense super extreme DUI in Arizona can cause significant trouble for you in your personal and professional lives. Very harsh mandatory minimum sentences will result in jail time and large financial burdens no matter what your standing in society is, what job you hold, and how much support you have in the community.
Due to the serious nature of a first offense super extreme DUI in Arizona, and the toll they can take on your life, you should immediately consult reputable DUI lawyers in Phoenix with extensive experience defending DUI cases of all kinds and severities in Arizona. You should also choose DUI lawyers in Phoenix who will fight aggressively to make sure your rights are being upheld at all times throughout the DUI process.
Penalties for a First Offense Super Extreme DUI in Arizona
If you are found guilty of a first offense super extreme DUI in Arizona, you face a class 1 misdemeanor, which includes:
- Up to six months in jail, with a minimum sentence of 45 days behind bars, if you refuse to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for 12 months
- A minimum of $2500 in fines, plus any other penalties or liabilities you may incur
- Losing your license for at least one year
- State sanctioned driving courses
- Probation or community service
- Mandatory enrollment in alcohol treatment and/or a counseling program
Due the serious nature of a super extreme DUI, you may also be ordered to engage in random alcohol monitoring, which can include blowing into a telephonic device multiple times throughout the day. In addition to this, financial penalties for a first offense super extreme DUI in Arizona can include:
- Paying for your mandatory alcohol classes and treatment
- Paying for your ignition interlock device during the 18 months (at minimum) it is on your vehicle
- Paying for your time in jail
- Paying extra for an SR-22 car insurance policy for three years after you get your vehicle back
- Paying higher car insurance premiums for up to three years after getting your vehicle back
All totaled, if you are convicted of a first offense super extreme DUI in Arizona, you can face more than $10,000 in financial penalties, above and beyond mandatory jail time. Additionally, you can face much harsher penalties if you cause an accident while intoxicated that injures another person, or causes any extensive property damage.
Trust Laboy Law DUI Lawyers in Phoenix
The consequences for being convicted of a first offense super extreme DUI in Arizona can put your livelihood and future in danger. Therefore, it is extremely important to consult DUI lawyers in Phoenix with proven experience defending DUI offenses of all types and severities. We will not stop fighting for your rights, by making sure that every possible legal option and defense strategy is available to you. If you are facing a super extreme DUI charge in Arizona, contact us today for a private, no obligation consultation at 602-777-3368.