AZ Extreme DUI First Offense
Arizona has some of the harshest penalties for DUI offenses in the nation. Due to what the state considers the highly reckless behavior of Extreme DUI, even 1st time non-commercial Extreme DUI offenders receive sentences that include mandatory jail time and stiff financial penalties. You are considered a AZ Extreme DUI first offense violator if you have not received a DUI in the past seven years before the current offense occurs. According to Arizona Revised Statute 28-1382(A), an extreme DUI involves:
- A blood alcohol content (BAC) of between .149% and .0199%
You can even be charged with a 1st time Extreme DUI offense if you are not actually driving your vehicle, but are in control of it in any way. For example:
- If you fall asleep behind the wheel of your vehicle, and even if the keys are not in the ignition but are still in your possession, you will be arrested because you are still considered to be in control of the vehicle
Being arrested for an AZ Extreme DUI first offense can be a very uncertain and emotionally trying experience. It does not matter if you have a steady job, community support, or any other good behavior circumstance, because the mandatory minimum sentencing requirements mean that you will still spend time in jail and face harsh financial penalties anyway.
Therefore, if you find yourself charged with an AZ Extreme DUI first offense, it is important to consult a reputable DUI lawyer in Phoenix Arizona with extensive experience defending DUI cases of all kinds and severities in Arizona. You should also choose a DUI lawyer in Phoenix Arizona who will aggressively fight to make sure your rights are being upheld at all times throughout the DUI process.
Penalties for an AZ Extreme DUI First Offense
If you are found guilty of an AZ Extreme DUI first offense, you face a class 1 misdemeanor, which includes:
- Up to six months in jail, with a minimum sentence of 30 days behind bars
- Fines of up to $2500 plus any other penalties or liabilities you may incur
- Attending alcohol counseling or treatment
- Losing your license for at least 90 days and up to one year
- State sanctioned driving courses
- Probation or community service
Due the serious nature of an Extreme DUI, you may also be ordered to engage in random alcohol monitoring, which can include blowing into a telephonic device multiple times throughout the day. In addition to this, financial penalties for a 1st time Extreme DUI conviction can include:
- Paying for your mandatory alcohol classes
- Paying for your ignition interlock device during the year (at minimum) it is on your vehicle
- Paying for your time in jail
- Paying extra for an SR-22 car insurance policy for three years after you get your vehicle back
- Paying higher car insurance premiums for up to three years after getting your vehicle back
All totaled, if you are convicted of a 1st time Extreme DUI offense in Arizona, you can face thousands and thousands of dollars in financial penalties, above and beyond mandatory incarceration. Additionally, you can face much harsher penalties if you cause an accident while intoxicated that causes damage to property, or injury to another person.
Trust Laboy Law DUI Lawyer in Phoenix Arizona
The consequences for being convicted of an AZ Extreme DUI first offense can be very costly personally and professionally speaking. Therefore, it is extremely important to consult a DUI lawyer in Phoenix Arizona with proven experience defending DUI offenses of all types and severities. We will not stop fighting for your rights, by making sure that every possible legal option and defense strategy is available to you. If you are facing your 1st Extreme DUI charge in Arizona, contact us today for a private, no obligation consultation at 602-777-3368.