Second Offense Extreme DUI in Arizona
Arizona has some of the toughest laws pertaining to DUI offenses in the nation. Due to what the state considers the incredibly reckless behavior of Extreme DUI, 2nd time non-commercial Extreme DUI offenders are sentenced to mandatory jail time and harsh financial penalties. You are considered a second offense extreme DUI in Arizona offender if you have been convicted of a DUI in the past seven years before the current offense occurs. According to Arizona Revised Statute 28-1382(A), an Extreme DUI involves:
- A blood alcohol content (BAC) of between .149% and .0199%
You can also be charged with a second offense extreme DUI in Arizona if you are in control of your vehicle in any way, whether or not you are actually driving it. For example:
- If you fall asleep behind the wheel of your vehicle with the keys in your possession but not in the ignition, you are still considered to be in control of the vehicle and will be arrested
Being arrested for a second offense extreme DUI in Arizona can be extremely unnerving and very damaging to your personal and professional lives. Even if you have a steady job, strong social support, and other good behavior measures, strict mandatory minimum sentencing requirements will result in jail time and harsh financial penalties no matter what.
Because of this, if you find yourself charged with a second offense extreme DUI in Arizona, it is essential to consult a reputable Phoenix DUI lawyer with extensive experience defending DUI cases of all kinds and severities in Arizona. You should also choose a Phoenix DUI lawyer who will fight aggressively to make sure your rights are being upheld at all times throughout the DUI process.
Penalties for a Second Offense Extreme DUI in Arizona
If you are found guilty of a second offense extreme DUI in Arizona, you face a class 1 misdemeanor, which includes:
- Up to six months in jail, with a minimum sentence of 120 days behind bars
- Fines totaling $3250 plus any other penalties or liabilities you may incur
- Losing your license for at least one year
- State sanctioned driving courses
- Probation or community service
Due the serious nature of an Extreme DUI, you may also be ordered to engage in random alcohol monitoring, which can include blowing into a telephonic device multiple times throughout the day. In addition to this, financial penalties for a 2nd time Extreme DUI conviction can include:
- Paying for your mandatory alcohol classes and treatment
- Paying for your ignition interlock device during the 18 months (at minimum) it is on your vehicle
- Paying for your time in jail
- Paying extra for an SR-22 car insurance policy for three years after you get your vehicle back
- Paying higher car insurance premiums for up to three years after getting your vehicle back
All totaled, if you are convicted of a 2nd Extreme DUI offense in Arizona, you can face thousands and thousands of dollars in financial penalties, above and beyond mandatory jail time. Additionally, you can face much harsher penalties if you cause an accident while intoxicated that injures another person, or causes any extensive damage.
Trust Phoenix DUI Lawyer Laboy Law
The consequences for being convicted of a second offense extreme DUI in Arizona are incredibly damaging to your finances and your life. Therefore, it is extremely important to consult a Phoenix DUI lawyer with proven experience defending DUI offenses of all types and severities. DUI lawyer Laboy Law will not stop fighting for your rights, by making sure that every possible legal option and defense strategy is available to you. If you are facing your 2nd Extreme DUI charge in Arizona, contact us today for a private, no obligation consultation at 602-777-3368.