Underage DUI Lawyer in Arizona
In Arizona, you have to be at least 21 years old in order to legally purchase, possess or consume any kind of alcohol or alcoholic beverage. Therefore, Arizona Revised Statute A.R.S. § 4-244.44 prohibits anyone under the age of 21 from driving a vehicle with any alcohol in their system.
- “Any alcohol” means that if you are younger than 21, your blood alcohol content (BAC) cannot be greater than 0.00%. So if you have even one drop of alcohol in your system and get behind the wheel, you can be arrested and charged with driving under the influence (DUI).
For minors under the age of 21, a DUI is one of the most serious charges you can face. It also has severe repercussions for your future prosperity. Some of these include:
- The limitation of employment prospects
- The limitation of higher education prospects
- Interrupting your present educational prospects (for college, high school and younger aged minors)
We cannot stress enough how important it is to refrain from the consumption of alcohol entirely if you are not of the legal age to consume it. But if you choose to consume alcohol or drugs anyway, we equally stress the importance of not getting behind the wheel, or into a vehicle with anyone who has been drinking. Doing so can stop your life (and future) in its tracks just as it is really getting started.
However, should you or your child be facing an underage DUI charge of any severity, it is incredibly important to consult an experienced, reputable underage DUI lawyer in Arizona with extensive knowledge of the underage DUI laws in Arizona. Also, be sure to seek out aggressive DUI attorneys in Phoenix who will fight for you or your child’s rights throughout the entire legal process.
Why do you Need an Underage DUI Lawyer in Arizona?
Because the penalties, if found guilty, can adversely affect your life for many years to come. If you are a first time offender arrested for underage DUI in Arizona, you can face a class 1 misdemeanor, which results in:
- A sentence of up to six months in jail
- Financial penalties of up to $2500 plus any additional surcharges or liabilities you may incur
- A mark on your legal record that can impact your present and future employment and educational opportunities
- Mandatory drug or alcohol counseling
- Mandatory drug and alcohol testing
- Community service and probation
Additionally, and much to the dismay of any young person who relies on his or her vehicle for work, school or other essential purposes:
- An underage DUI conviction results in the mandatory suspension of your license for two years (a judge may order that the Motor Vehicle Division issue you a restricted permit that allows you only to commute to or from school, work and any other court mandated classes for those two years, but this is not a guarantee by any means)
Even after you are able to get your license reinstated, you will face:
- Extremely high automobile insurance rates and potential restrictions
- The mandatory use of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for two years after your license is reinstated
You may face much harsher sentencing should you cause an accident while intoxicated that damages property, or injures or kills another person. Therefore, it is important to consult with a knowledgable underage DUI lawyer to make sure your rights are being upheld.
Trust Laboy Law DUI Attorneys in Phoenix
We cannot stress enough that the best way to avoid ever receiving an underage DUI charge is to refrain from breaking the law; do not consume alcohol or drugs and then turn the key. However, if you find yourself charged with underage DUI in Arizona, Laboy law DUI attorneys in Phoenix can help by providing you with focused, aggressive legal assistance for underage DUI crimes of all types and severities.
We can help defend you against underage DUI charges by making sure your constitutional rights are being protected. We will not stop fighting for your rights, by making sure that every possible legal option and defense strategy is available to you. If you or your child is charged with any type of underage DUI crime in Arizona, contact us today for a private, no obligation consultation at 602-777-3368.